Losing My Religion


I found myself in the midst of them that sing,

The Bacchus of the Nigerian soil,

In the company of a fool’s play,

All fiction, like a midsummer’s night dream.

My delight shone like pure gold,

Rays of which I have never felt for a while,

The cool tender drops upon my cheek,

The warm lava flow riding down my back.

I found love in the strangest of places,

I found love in drunkenness of a feast,

I found love in the smiles of strangers,

I found love in the stillness of his eyes.

I have been to the most decent of places,

I have been to the prettiest of gatherings,

I have been in the company of the wise,

I have danced with the men of old.

I have never felt what I feel now,

This never-ending smile on my lips,

This captivating chuckling within my soul,

This urge to make a run for it.

I found love in a sea of dark murky waters,

I found love in a crumbling three wheel drive,

I found love beneath a shed made of shattered clothing,

I found love in every word he said.

I found love in every breath he took,

I found love in every kiss he gave,

I found love with every hold we had,

I found love in the tears he gave.

So I need not be in a fancy restaurant,

I need not have the best of cars,

I need not have the strongest of men,

I need not have the Apollo of them all.

I need not have an expensive movie ticket,

I need not have a Canadian visa,

I need not have any of these,

To have a love that’s true and free.

Credendo Vides………………

2 thoughts on “Losing My Religion

  1. so what was so strong to have made the change in your paradigm shift. WOW! loveeeeeeeeeeeeeIT

Leave a Reply

